Help Japan

When I first saw this picture, I was perceptually disoriented: were those toy planes and cars, remnants of a toy store?

It took a couple of seconds to register that what I was seeing was the sheer brutality of nature, man-made objects weighing tons picked up like a handful of trinkets and thrown into a pile of wooden chips that once were houses.

One can only imagine what happened to humans who were tragically caught in the midst of Japan’s worst natural disaster in modern history.

I love Japan with all my heart. The accounts of “stoic, dignified” Japanese people bring tears to my eyes as this is what makes Japan – its quietly reserved and resilient people, so lovely and so undeserving of this horrible catastrophe. I wish I could do more to help, but the only thing I could do was donate money to the Australian Red Cross, whose emergency teams are preparing to fly to Japan to help people cope with the devastation of that disaster.

I beg you to spare what you can and donate to the charity of your choice. Australian Red Cross is running a Japan appeal, or here’s the detailed list of how you can help using other charities:

http://www.survivingnjapan.com/2011/03/earthquake-in-japan-links-resources.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Help Japan

  1. Evan says:

    Wow! That picture is so surreal.

Leave a Reply

